Let’s talk about love—love languages, that is. If you don’t know what your love languages are, or you’ve never heard of the 5 Love Languages, it is a book by Gary Chapman in which he talks about the five ways people experience love. It’s important to understand love languages in any relationship but especially if a loved one is experiencing an addiction.

It is vital to know how to get through to someone when they are feeling lost and alone. So, here are the five love languages and why it is so important to understand which one your loved one speaks.

Acts of Service 

This one is pretty self-explanatory. If you notice that your loved one really responds when you help out with something like a special project, chores, errands, or another task, there’s a good chance that their love language is Acts of Service.

Likewise, you’ll probably notice that they will show their love by trying to help out with your special tasks and projects.

Physical Touch 

Does your loved one love giving or getting hugs? Do they affectionately touch your hand when you’re spending time together? They’re likely speaking Physical Touch.

Words of Affirmation 

Is your loved one really good at telling you how they feel about you? Do they write you loving notes or texts? Do they respond well to your verbal affirmations of love? This all points to Words of Affirmation.


If your loved one loves getting and receiving gifts, don’t think that they are self-centered. Gift-giving is just their love language. It doesn’t mean that they are materialistic, either. It is just how they show their affection.

Quality Time

Some people don’t need words or even physical touch. They just want to be around you. And that’s how you know they love you. Quality time is important to any relationship, but especially to someone whose love language is Quality Time.

Why Does It Matter? 

You might be wondering why it matters to know your own love language or someone else’s. Well, knowing how someone wants to be loved will help you better express your feelings for them, which is vital for someone who is going through a tough time. They need to know that you are there for them, and you need to show them in a way that they will respond to.

Not understanding someone’s love language often leads to confusion and heartache, but knowing how someone shows affection will help you build a better relationship. If you’re feeling stuck and like you can’t get through to someone, consider learning more about the 5 Love Languages.

Follow Empower Slave to None on all social media platforms for more uplifting content like this!